In today’s world, where technology is everywhere, it can be easier than ever to talk to people. But it can also be easy to stop someone from talking to you by pushing one or two buttons. And if you text someone and don’t hear back, you might wonder if the same thing is happening to you. Can you tell if your texts have been blocked? See how to find out if someone has blocked you on Facebook.
Can You Know for Sure?
To start, we should say that there’s no surefire way to know if you’ve been stopped. For example, you won’t get a message or see a sign in that person’s contact information.
That would be a breach of the other user’s privacy. But little signs like the lack of a “Delivered” message on an iPhone and what you hear when you call the person can help you figure out if they’ve blocked you. In fact, it’s much easier to find out if someone blocked your phone number if you and the person you’re texting both have iPhones.
How to Know if Someone Blocked Your Number On Your iPhone
There are a few ways to find out if someone has blocked your phone number. The Chief Communications Officer at Been Verified, Justin Lavelle, explains how you can tell if your iPhone number has been blocked.
Check out your message app, which is probably called “iMessage.” He told Reader’s Digest, “When you send a message, you will probably get a ‘delivered’ confirmation when the message has been sent.”
Look for that confirmation when you look at your texts with the person you think blocked you. “The last message you know was received and replied to should have a ‘delivered’ status,” Lavelle says. If you don’t see the “delivered” notification next to the texts you sent after that, it could mean that person has blocked you.
Another way to find out if someone has blocked your number is to call that person. “If you call a certain number and it goes straight to voicemail or you get a strange message like ‘temporarily out of service’ or ‘the person is not taking calls,’ this could mean your number has been blocked,” says Lavelle. Maybe you did something bad over text that you shouldn’t have.
Read More: How to Connect AirPods to MAC?
How to Know if Someone Blocked Your Number on Android
If either you or the person you’re texting has an Android phone, things are even less clear. Texting on an Android phone doesn’t show the “delivered” message, and even an iPhone user won’t see it when texting an Android user. So, how can you tell on an Android phone if someone has stopped your number from getting texts?
Lavelle says that if an Android user has blocked you, your text texts will still go through, but they won’t get to the Android user. It’s the same as an iPhone, but there’s no “delivered” or “not delivered” notice to let you know. “The easiest way to find out if an Android user has blocked you is to call,” says Lavelle. Listen for it to go to voicemail or play a pre-recorded message, just like you would with an iPhone.
Of course, this doesn’t always mean that person has blocked your phone number; your call could be sent to voicemail for other reasons. But if it keeps happening and both calls and texts go unanswered, you should think that you’ve been stopped. Even if you don’t care about getting stopped, you shouldn’t do these annoying things when you text.